BEING CLEOPATRA: Fazıl Say composes 'Cleopatra' for solo violin

Monday, October 17, 2011

Fazıl Say composes 'Cleopatra' for solo violin

Fazıl Say makes Turkey premier of ‘Cleopatra’
Sunday, October 16, 2011
ISTANBUL- Hürriyet Daily News

"Turkey’s world renowned pianist Fazıl Say will make the Turkey premier of his latest work, “Cleopatra,” on Oct. 19.

Violin virtuoso Cihat Aşkın will accompany Say at the concert, which will take place at Istanbul’s Cemal Reşit Rey Concert Hall.

This year for the first time, the Henri Marteau International Violin Competition for violinists aged 25 and under commissioned a composition.

Say wrote “Cleopatra,” a solo violin piece, taking into consideration Henri Marteau’s Caprice No. 10 “Intermezzo;” both pieces were mandatory performance pieces during the competition. The world premiere of “Cleopatra” was made on May 30 in the second round of the competition in Lichtenberg, Germany."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...